Special Guest Author Greta Burroughs!

I loved visiting with Greta.  She’s heartwarming and real, great qualities for a friend and a writer.  Please welcome Greta Burroughs.  I know you’ll enjoy her as much as I did.

 Image

How long have you been writing?

I am a full-time writer mainly because I cannot work outside my home. I started writing in 2005 after being diagnosed with ITP and have loved that choice ever since. I just wish I could make some money out of it!

 

What do you write? Specific genres, ages groups, etc.

I have one non-fiction memoir written for others who have ITP and to spread the word about this blood disorder. I mainly write children’s books for ages 5-8 and MG/YA fantasy for ages 9-99.

 

Do you prefer Ebook, paperback, or hardcover?

For convenience sake, I like ebooks but nothing will ever replace the feel of having a real book in my hands.

 

What are you currently working on?

I have started on three manuscripts this year but have not gotten very far with any of them. One of them is a story centered around our 18-year-old dog who passed away last January. Then I have another in the Wee People series and the third is another Patchy and Calico children’s book.

 

What makes your writing unique?

I guess the most unique thing about my writing is the dialogue. I let the characters dictate to me so the conversations seem more natural and what a teenager (Wee People) or a not-so-smart dog (Patchy and Calico) would say.

 

Do you have a set writing schedule or do you write when the fancy hits you?

No, no rituals, schedules or anything like that. I’m usually doing other things while writing so I have to get up and down several times and occasionally lose my train of thought but it always comes back when I get back to business. I try to wake up before everyone else but that doesn’t always work. When a story is talking to me, I try to stay with it as much as I can but life interferes and I work when and as long as I can each day.  

 

 

When you aren’t writing, what would we find you doing?

When I’m not writing, I’m usually busy with other tasks in and around the house and yard, running errands, going to the doctor or on Facebook.

 

Is music part of your writing process? If so, what do you listen to?

I don’t listen to music very often but I prefer classical or easy listening with no lyrics.

 

Why would someone like your book(s)?

Hopefully, folks would like my books because they are fun. The Patchy and Calico stories entertain kids while teaching them valuable lessons. They are funny and even adults get a kick out of the antics of the two main characters. In the Wee People series, there is no sex, violence, profanity – just a fast-paced adventure and some loveable characters.

 

Links

 

(US Amazon)  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004JKMT0Q

 

(UK Amazon) http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B004JKMT0Q

 

 (B&N) http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/gerald-and-the-wee-people-greta-burroughs/1100075754?ean=2940015749366&itm=1&usri=greta+burroughs

 

 (Smashwords)  http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/39307

 

 

 

 

Author’s Bio

 

Greta Burroughs loves to read. No matter where she is, there is always a book close at hand. Her love of reading began at an early age and blossomed over time to include many different genres, her favorite now being fantasy.

As a preschool and elementary school teacher, Greta tried to instill the joy of reading in the children she worked with. Books were an important part of her classroom and story time was the highlight of the day.

It has been a while since Greta was in a classroom but she had lots of experience in reading to children of various ages and remembers what they enjoyed listening to. She tries to incorporate that knowledge into her work as an author and believes it makes her a better writer of children’s and young adult books.

She now resides in SC with her husband, Robert and three dogs. Greta has six books published at the present time; three children’s books in the Patchwork Dog and Calico Cat series, two MG/YA fantasy entitled Gerald and the Wee People and House on Bo-Kay Lane, and a nonfiction account of her experiences with an autoimmune blood disorder called ITP – Heartaches and Miracles.

For more information on Greta’s books visit http://booksbygretaburroughs.weebly.com/

 

3 thoughts on “Special Guest Author Greta Burroughs!

  1. Nice interview girls!!!!Two wildly talented authors sharing in this way!!!! Awesome!!!! Greta, I like how you let the characters dictate to you. You do a great job of it!! Congrats to you for what you are doing. I think your event on Facebook Inspiring Children…One Book at a Time is wonderful. You are an inspiration!!!!! I hope everyone checks it out since it will be going on through July 14. https://www.facebook.com/events/479784575431174/

Leave a Reply

