Guest author Jamesina Greene

Please welcome featured author Jamesina Greene.  We set down and had a chat.  Enjoy her wisdom and insight.  I know I did.  Thank you so much for being my guest today.  I have some questions prepared for you.

Where are you from?  Virginia 

Tell us a little about yourself.  I am a mother and grandmother.  I am a self published author, ordained minister and counsellor.  I have two sons and four grandsons (kinda sick of little boys, lol).  I love to write, read and travel.

 Tell us your latest news?  I have currently self published 5 books and I am working on a novel and a book project which I began with my late father.

 When and why did you begin writing? I began writing as a child.  It was my way of dealing with being molested and other traumatic experiences.  I didn’t feel like I had a voice to TELL about it, so I WROTE about it.

 When did you first consider yourself a writer? Around 8 years old.

 What inspired you to write your first book?  I started a Journal after being hospitalized for Depression.  My Journal entries became the foundation for my first book.

 Do you have a specific writing style? I’m not sure.

How did you come up with the title?  “Help, I Don’t Like Myself!” is the title and it is exactly how I felt at the time.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?  I want the readers to understand that the first step to getting healed is to be real.  It is OK and even necessary to acknowledge when things are going wrong and then proceed to make them right.

How much of the book is realistic?  100%

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life, or are they a figment of your imagination? (i.e. – is your hero/heroin you? – is your ‘bad guy’ you or someone you know?)  The entire book is about me and my family members. 

What books have influenced your life the most?  I enjoy multiple genres and a variety of authors.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?  Victoria Christopher Murray

What book(s) are you reading now?  “Sing a New Song” by Michelle Lindo-Rice

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Michelle Lindo-Rice and Danielle Batiste-Bond

What are your current projects?  I am turning my first book, “Help, I Don’t Like Myself!” into a novel.  I am also working on a Children’s Book.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.  Fellow authors and publishers.

If you could pick any celebrity to star in the movie version of your book, who would it be?  Angela Bassett

If you could pick a celebrity to play one character in the movie version, who would it be?If you could pick a celebrity to play one character in the movie version, who would it be? If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?  Yes

 Can you share a little of your current work with us? (a short excerpt would be great)

 Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?  So far my work comes from personal experience and that alone is challenging when deal with those emotions.

 What is your particular writing quirk? I have to be done more than once thing at once.

Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?  Not right now.  I plan to very soon.

Who designed the cover(s)?  The original publisher.

What was the hardest part of writing your book?  Finding time.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?  To take the pain and move it into my pen and onto my paper.

Do you have any advice for other writers?  Just WRITE!

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?  Each of us has a Voice that is uniquely ours.  Don’t be afraid to really hear the Voice of someone else.

Please share your blog/website/facebook/twitter here with us.  http://www.jamee2001.wordpress.com

http://facebook.com/jamee.greene1

Thanks for the wonderful glimpse of who you are and how you’ve gotten to this point.  It was a pleasure visiting with you today.

Leave a Reply

